First Team

JvW-BADGE-2016-ctpJVW FC participate in the Gauteng Provincial League of the National Sasol League, and have progressively moved up the log table over the years, recording the following finishes:

2013: 11th/16
2014: 8th/16
2015: 4th/18
2016: 1st/16
2017: 4th/16


The JVW FC First Team is home to 6 Senior Womens National Team Players, 5 of whom participated in the Rio Olympic Games, and one U20 National Team Player, who participated in the U20 Womens World Cup Qualifiers.

The SAFA Sasol League was launched in February 2009 as a provincial Women’s league, and consists of 144 clubs nationwide on a home and away basis among the 16 clubs in each province.

The Eastern Cape, Gauteng, Northern Cape and KwaZulu-Natal clubs are divided into two stream of 8 teams each because of the vast travelling distances between areas, the other six provinces play as 16-team provincial leagues.

The winners of the respective provinces qualify to compete at the SAFA Sasol League National Championships which are generally held at the end of the year. The bottom two teams from each province are relegated to the Regional Women’s League and the top two teams from the Regional Women’s League are promoted into the SASOL League.