Tag: Girls Football


South Africa’s Senior Women’s National team as well as the U20 Women’s team will be taking part in the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Championships in Port Elizabeth from 31 July – 11 August.

Fresh from the world cup, Janine van Wyk and Mamello Makhabane have been called for duty. Makhabane, currently on 98 caps, will head into the tournament with hopes to reach her 100th cap for South Africa, should she make appearances in the tournament.

Midfielder Robyn Moodaly, has also been called up to Banyana Banyana after an absence in the national team since the 2016 Rio Olympics in Brazil. Moodaly will add a new dynamic into the fold since returning from USA collegiate football, and playing a major role in JVW’s first round Sasol league Campaign.

The South African Senior Women’s National Team has been drawn in a group with Malawi, Comoros and Madagascar.

Jessica Wade as well as Sarah Walker have been named to the U20 Women’s National team. Recently having come back from an international tournament in China, the team will be looking to put up a good performance in their first ever COSAFA tournament. They will face Zimbabwe, Namibia and Malawi in their group with the first matches kicking off on Thursday, 1 August 2019.

Banyana Banyana will be looking to continue their run in defending their title this year, whilst Bastesana will be working towards their first title. Both teams have arrived in Port Elizabeth ahead of the tournament.

Banyana Banyana Fixtures:

31/07/2019 South African vs Comoros 15:30

02/08/2019 South Africa vs Malawi 15:30

05/08/2019 South Africa vs Madagascar 12:45

08/08/2019 Semi Finals

10/08/2019 3rd/4th Playoff

11/08/2019 Finals


Basetsana Fixtures:

01/08/2019 South Africa vs Zimbabwe 14:00

03/08/2019 South Africa vs Namibia 14:00

05/08/2019 South Africa vs Mozambique 10:00

08/08/2019 Semi Finals

10/08/2019 3rd/4th Playoff

11/08/2019 Finals

Awarding Top achievers in the JVW Schools League

The JVW Schools League Awards 2016 was nothing short of an inspirational evening for all who were present.
Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls graced the audience with a spectacular opening of the National Anthem and a spiritually-uplifting closing songs.
The night wouldn’t be completed with the presence of the Banyana Banyana players, Linda Motlhalo, Yolula Tsawe, Nompumelelo Nyandeni and the Captain herself and JVW founder, Janine van Wyk.
It was a great night for the award winners and runners-up of the overall league.
Open winners:
1st – Hoerskool Vorentoe High School
2nd – Jeppe High School for Girls
3rd – Waverley High School

Hoerskool Vorentoe

U17 winners:
1st – Rand Girls’ School
2nd – Edenvale High School
3rd – Parktown High School for Girls

U15 winners:
1st – Jeppe High School for Girls
2nd – Hoerskool Vorentoe High School
3rd – Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls & Parktown High School

Individual Awards:
JVW XI 2016: Elizabeth Mazivise (Hoerskool Vorentoe High School)
Cebile Maseko (Assumption Convent)
Nonkoliso Tshiki (Rand Girls’ School)
Tyla-Bree Joss (Benoni High School)
Kayla Marshall (Reddam House Bedfordview)
Nonhlanhla Mncube (Waverley High School)
Sihle Tshabalala (Norkem Park High School)
Cindy Cook (Hoerskool Vorentoe High School)
Tarabhan Pemu (Pretoria High School for Girls)
Lindokuhle Sukazi (Jeppe High School for Girls)
Mapaseka Mofokeng (Hoerskool Vorentoe High)

JVW XI 2016

Top Goal Scorer: Tarabhan Pemu (Pretoria High School for Girls)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Elizabeth Mazivise (Hoerskool Vorentoe High School)
Coach of the Year: Mduduzi Mthethwa (Rand Girls’ School)
Player of the Year: Cindy Cook (Hoerskool Vorentoe High School)

Cindy Cook

The night wouldn’t have been possible without the assistance from Ekurhuleni Sports and Recreation, who have been working with the program for the past 5 years, as well as Lizah Rubisane who devoted a big portion of her time and effort to make sure the night had all that it needed to run smoothly.

Lastly, a big thank you goes out to all the school teams, players, parents and coaches who made the league a success and a competitive one to help grow the sport we all love. We look forward to a bigger and better 2017 Season!